When sharing to social media, Clearview Social uses third-party APIs provided by LinkedIn, Facebook, and Twitter. We are also subject to each network's Terms of Service and Community Guidelines. These guidelines outline a number of conditions or violations that we as consumers don't know about! However, when these conditions or violations occur, shares created in Clearview Social will fail to post to the network.

Below we have outlined a number of common issues related to each network, along with more details on how you can resolve them.

LinkedIn

Expired Profile Connection

The Problem: Probably the most common share error in Clearview Social, you will see errors related to an expired profile connection if you do not re-authorize Clearview Social at least once every 60 days.

The Solution: We provide a "Refresh Connection and Reschedule" button in the software that will re-authorize Clearview Social for your account, generate a new access token, and reschedule any shares affected by that error. We also provide 3-days advanced notice of an expired connection via email, so you can refresh the connection in advance.

Invalid Profile Connection

The Problem: The most common reason you will receive a share error due to an invalid connection is that you have updated either your email address or password on LinkedIn. Any time sensitive information is updated on LinkedIn, any third-party access tokens will become invalidated. This is a security measure enacted by LinkedIn to ensure that no untrusted parties have gained access to your account through a third-party application.

The Solution: We provide a "Refresh Connection and Reschedule" button in the software that will re-authorize Clearview Social for your account, generate a new access token, and reschedule any shares affected by that error.

Unconfirmed LinkedIn Profile

The Problem: When you create a new account on LinkedIn, or update your email address, LinkedIn will send you a verification email to the address you add. Until you verify your email address, you will have limited functionality available to you through LinkedIn. This will also affect your ability to share to LinkedIn using Clearview Social.

The Solution: You can run the following steps in your LinkedIn account to verify your email address:

  1. Sign in to your LinkedIn account.
  2. Click the Me icon at the top of your LinkedIn homepage.
  3. Select Settings & Privacy from the dropdown.
  4. Under the Sign in & security section, click Change next to Email addresses.
  5. You'll then see the email addresses associated with your account. If your email address isn't confirmed, click Send verification.

After verifying your email address, you can manually reschedule your shares in Clearview Social.

Duplicate Content

The Problem: LinkedIn can detect if you post an article with the same content too close to a previous post. When this happens, LinkedIn will reject the post.

The Solution: Clearview Social recommends waiting at least 48 hours before posting an article again with the same content. You can manually reschedule your shares in Clearview Social, and PeakTimeā„¢ should space your shares out sufficiently to avoid this error in the future.

Facebook

Expired Profile Connection

The Problem: You will see errors related to an expired profile connection if you do not re-authorize Clearview Social at least once every 60 days.

The Solution: We provide a "Refresh Connection and Reschedule" button in the software that will re-authorize Clearview Social for your account, generate a new access token, and reschedule any shares affected by that error. We also provide 3-days advanced notice of an expired connection via email, so you can refresh the connection in advance.

Page Access not yet Granted

The Problem: When you connect your Facebook Profile to Clearview Social, you will be asked to granted access to post to Pages that you manage. This consists of two prompts:

  1. A prompt that authorizes Clearview Social to be able to post to Facebook Pages you administer
  2. A prompt that lets you select which specific pages you are granting Clearview Social access

The issue occurs when you have previously connected a Facebook Page to Clearview Social, but on a subsequent authorization you do not complete both prompts.

The Solution: Go to the Settings page, and disconnect / reconnect your Facebook Profile. When reconnecting your Profile, you'll see a screen like the following:

  1. Click Edit Settings to update your allowed Facebook Pages.
  2. Select which Pages you would like to use with Clearview Social, and click Next
  3. Select "Yes" for all options when prompted with "What is Clearview Social allowed to do?", and click Done
  4. Click Ok to complete the connection process
  5. Go to your Settings page. Remove the connected Facebook Page, and reconnect it to get updated access tokens.

Once your Page is authorized and connected, you can manually reschedule your shares in Clearview Social.

Administrative Rights have been Removed

The Problem: Oftentimes Facebook Pages are run by multiple administrators. You'll see this particular error if either:

  • A Page you have previously connected to Clearview Social is updated by another administrator of that Page
  • Your administrative rights over that Page have been removed, and you are no longer allowed to post to that Page

The Solution: The solution to this message really depends on the source. The following steps should ensure you are able to post to the Page again:

  1. First, verify you still have administrative rights to the Page. You can do this in Facebook by going to https://www.facebook.com/bookmarks/pages. If you see your Page in the list, you should be able to post to that Page.
  2. Follow the solution steps in Page Access not yet Granted. You may need to reauthorize Clearview Social to grant access to the Page.

Once your Page is authorized and connected, you can manually reschedule your shares in Clearview Social.

Clearview Social is Not Authorized to Post on Your Behalf

The Problem: This is a very similar error to Page Access not yet Granted. When you connect your Facebook Profile to Clearview Social, you will be asked to granted access to post to Pages that you manage. This consists of two prompts:

  1. A prompt that authorizes Clearview Social to be able to post to Facebook Pages you administer
  2. A prompt that lets you select which specific pages you are granting Clearview Social access

The Solution: Go to the Settings page, and disconnect / reconnect your Facebook Profile. Then follow the solution steps in Page Access not yet Granted to reauthorize Clearview Social to grant access to the Page. Once your Page is authorized and connected, you can manually reschedule your shares in Clearview Social.

Twitter

Duplicate Content

The Problem: Twitter can detect if you post an article with the same content too close to a previous post. When this happens, Twitter will reject the post.

The Solution: Clearview Social recommends waiting at least 48 hours before posting an article again with the same content. You can manually reschedule your shares in Clearview Social, and PeakTimeā„¢ should space your shares out sufficiently to avoid this error in the future.

Account is Temporarily Locked

The Problem: If Twitter believes your account is either compromised, or in violation of its Terms of Service, they may temporarily lock your account.

The Solution: You will need to follow the steps Twitter provides to unlock your account. These steps are outlined in the following documentation. Once your account is unlocked, you can manually reschedule your shares in Clearview Social.

Account is Suspended

The Problem: If Twitter believes is in violation of its Terms of Service, they may suspend your account.

The Solution: You will need to follow the steps Twitter provides to appeal the account suspension. These steps are outlined in the following documentation. Once your account is restored, you can manually reschedule your shares in Clearview Social.

Other Issues

You may have a share that fails to post due to other reasons. We are continually looking to update our list of known issues and resolutions. If you do not have a specific error associated with your failed share, please contact us at support@clearviewsocial.com, or use the chat bubble within the app to speak with one of our support representatives.

Did this answer your question?